Central Govt. Approves Restructured MsDP as “Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram”

Published Date - 03 May 2018 05:58:59 Updated Date - 03 May 2018 05:59:39

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs chaired by the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi today has approved the proposal for renaming and restructuring of Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) as Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK).  CCEA has also approved its continuation during the remaining period of the 14th Finance Commission. with an aim to provide better socio-economic infrastructure facilities to minority communities and widen the scheme's coverage.

The restructuring would result in lessening of the gap between the national average and the minority communities on backwardness parameters. This means the area to be covered under 'Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram' would be 57 per cent more as compared to the existing MsDP. The MsDP covered 196 districts of the country whereas PMJVK would cover 308 districts of the country.

The government said that 80 per cent of the resources under the PMJVK would be earmarked for projects related to education, health and skill development. 33 per cent to 40 per cent of resources under the PMJVK would be specifically allocated for women centric projects.

Ministry of Minority Affairs will fund this entire scheme. PMJVK will now cover 5 more states and 61 aspirational districts having concentrations of minorities. Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram will now continue with a total outlay of Rs. 3,972 crore.

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram[PMJVK]

The important features of this new programme are as follows:-

  • Restructured MsDP will provide better socio-economic facilities to minority communities in the field of education, health and skill development.
  • This would lessen gap between national average and minority community in accordance with the backwardness parameters.
  • More flexibility would address important issues for speedy implementation which will result in inclusion of minorities.
  • Around 80% of the total available resources will be utilized for health, education and skill development under PMJVK. Moreover, around 33% to 40% resources will be allocated specifically allotted for women centric projects.
  • Govt. has rationalized the criteria for identification of Minority Concentration Towns (MCTs) and Clusters of Villages.
  • Population Criteria – Govt. has now lowered the population percentage criteria of Minority community and fulfillment of backwardness parameters. Earlier, village clusters with at-least 50% of minority population were considered as MCT which is now lowered to 25%.
  • Criteria of Backwardness – Previously, only those towns who are backward in both Basic Amenities and Socio-Economic parameters were taken as MCTs. But now, any town which is found backward in one or both of the above mentioned parameters will be taken up as MCT.

Minority concentration areas are identified on the basis of population of notified minority community based on SECC-2011 Data.

Highest number of districts under PMJVK (State Wise Distribution) are – Uttar Pradesh (43), Maharashtra (27), Karnataka (16), Bengal (16) and Rajasthan (16), Gujarat (13), Arunachal Pradesh (13), Kerala (13), Tamil Nadu (12), Madhya Pradesh (8), Haryana (7) and Manipur (7) and Punjab (2). Govt. will also include the most backward 61 most backward “aspirational districts” having concentration of minorities.


Leave Your Comment Here