Intra-State E-Way Bill System in AP, MP, Puducherry, Sikkim & Meghalaya from 25 April 2018

Published Date - 24 April 2018 06:30:16 Updated Date - 24 April 2018 06:31:26

E-way bill provision of GST, first introduced on 1 February 2018 was initially made mandatory for inter-state transportation of goods, having consignment value of more than Rs. 50,000 through road, railways, airways and vessels. 

However, after the e-way bill portal crashed on the very first day due to technical glitches, the government extended the deadline and asked GSTN to develop a fool-proof system before the re-launch of the bill.

Now govt. is going to roll-out Intra-State E-Way Bill across 5 more states from 25 April 2018. Now e-way bill will get rolled out in Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Puducherry, Sikkim & Meghalaya. Candidates will have to make e-way bill registration through e-way bill login at portal

Till 20 April 2018, intra-state e way bill system has been rolled-out in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh. Accordingly till 22 April 2018, more than 1 crore 84 lakh e-way bills are generated successfully including 22 lakh Intra-State e-way bills.

E-Way Bill Registration ensures transparency and minimizes corruption to a great extent. E-Way Bill System is a mechanism to track movement of goods / cargo in GST Regime.

Details of Intra-State E-Way Bill System 2018

E-Way Bill roll-out is carried out in phases as this strategy will manage load on e-way bill portal. All the transporters will have to generate e-way bills for cargo movement under GST regime for goods having value of Rs. 50,000 or more and with distance beyond 10 km. Any Transporter, supplier or recipient can utilize this intra-state e-way bill. State Wise E-Way Bill Roll out is given in the table given below:-
Date Wise Roll-Out of Intra State E-Way Bill


Name of States

1 April 2018


15 April 2018

Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Gujarat, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh

20 April 2018

Bihar, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Tripura, Uttarakhand

25 April 2018

Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Madhya Pradesh, Puduchhery, Sikkim

GST E-Way Bill Portal has the capacity to generate 75 lakh e-way bills per day. National Informatics Center (NIC) is implementing nationwide e-way bill mechanism to facilitate trade and industry. This is going to become compulsory from 1 June 2018 as per the decision of GST Council. For more details, visit the official website

This e-way bill system is based on the tagline – “One Nation, One Market, One Tax”. Central govt. is making every possible effort to successfully roll-out nation wide e-way bills for transportation of goods.

Leave Your Comment Here