Intra-State E-Way Bill System rollout in five states (AP, Kerala, Gujarat, Telangana & UP) from 15 April 2018

Published Date - 11 April 2018 03:03:01 Updated Date - 11 April 2018 03:04:53

The government has decided to implement generation of e-way bill for intra-state movement of goods in five states -- Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Kerala, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh -- from April 15. The announcement came ten days after the rollout of the e-way bill system for inter-state movement of goods and intra-state e-way bill system for Karnataka.

E-Way Bill Registration ensures transparency and prevents corruption to a great extent. This will also prevent leakage of Rs. 10,000 crore in business to consumer transactions. Karnataka govt. has rolled out both inter-state and intra-state e-way bill system in the state from 1 April 2018.

Previously, inter state roll out was deferred in the month of February due to technical glitches caused because of more traffic.

The idea of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Council is to gradually have the same electronic permit for all shipments of goods within the country above a value of Rs50,000, including local transportation beyond 50km. By 1 June, the council expects all states to adopt e-way bills for local movement of goods as well.

About:-Intra-State E-Way Bill System 2018

GST Council has rolled out inter-state system in staggered manner According to a government statement e-Way Bills are getting generated  successfully and till April 9, 2018 more than sixty three lakh e-Way Bills have been successfully generated. 
The states that would implement E-Way Bill system from April 15 include- 
(i) Andhra Pradesh 
(ii) Gujarat 
(iii) Kerala 
(iv) Telangana 
(v) Uttar Pradesh 

 Now govt. will launch intra-state e-way bill in these 5 states from 15 April 2018.

Phase Wise E-Way Bill roll-out strategy will manage load on the e-way bill portal. Now all the transporters needs to carry e-way bills for movement of goods with value more than Rs. 50,000 with distance beyond 10 km. E-Way Bill can be generated for any of the 3 entities – transporters,supplier and recipient.

“Technical glitches had resulted in an abortion of the e-way bill system’s full-fledged launch on February 1. The government hopes that its introduction will enable tax authorities to track the inter-state and intra-state movement of goods, thus preventing any possible tax evasion.

The second attempt towards the mandatory implementation of inter-state e-way bill from April 1 has remained smooth and glitch-free. Till April 9, more than 63 lakh bills had already been generated.

Last month, the GST Council, headed by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, had decided that state-wise implementation of the e-way bill system will be done on a weekly basis or in a phased manner.

“States have been divided into four categories. State-wise implementation of e-way bill will be done on a weekly basis (after April 7).

This system has the capacity to generate 75 lakh e-way bills in a single day. National Informatics Center (NIC) is given the responsibility to implement nation-wide e-way bill mechanism under GST Regime. This facility will result in enhancement of trade and industry.

E-Way Bill Portal has been stable till date in generating bills. All the transporters who are still facing some problems on bill generation will soon get their query resolved soon. Now, central govt. has successfully rolled out e-way bill system and same is expected for inter-state roll out. Central govt. will assess the volume load and will also take care of making intra-state e-way bill registration successful. For more details, visit the official website


Leave Your Comment Here