List of Selected 20 Cities to be Developed as Smart Cities

Published Date - 31 August 2017 06:55:24 Updated Date - 25 October 2017 06:42:00

Indian Central Government has announced the list of 20 cities which will be developed as smart cities under the Smart City program. The government will spend Rs. 50,802 crores for development of selected smart cities and towns during the five-year period.

Smart Cities Mission is an urban renewal and retrofitting program by the Government of India with a mission to develop 100 cities all over the country making them citizen friendly and sustainable.

1. The Union Ministry of Urban Development is responsible for implementing the mission in collaboration with the state governments of the respective cities.Smart city mission envisions of developing an area within 100 cities in the country as model area based on an area development plan, which is expected have rub-off effect on other parts of the city

2. and near by cities and towns.

3. City will be selected based on the Smart cities challenge, in which cities will compete in a countrywide competition to get the benefits from this mission. As of Jun 2017, 90 cities have been selected for upgrade as part of smart city mission after they defeated other cities in the challenge.

It is five-year program, where all of the Indian states and Union territories are participating except West Bengal nominating at-least one city for the smart city challenge. Financial aid will be given by the central and state government between 2017 - 2022 to the cities and mission starts showing results from 2022 on wards.

Each city will create a corporate company headed by a full time CEO to implement the smart city mission.

5. The execution of projects may be done through joint ventures, subsidiaries, public-private partnership (PPP), turnkey contracts, etc suitably dovetailed with revenue streams.

6. Center and state government will provide INR 1,000 Crore funding to the company, as equal contribution of INR 500 crore each. The company has to raise additional fund from the financial market as a debt or equity.


The government has selected 20 cities initially out of proposal for 97 cities sent by the state governments. The selected smart cities will be equipped with basic infrastructure, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity and e-governance mechanisms.

Following is the list of 20 smart cities:

  1. Bhubaneswar
  2. Pune
  3. Jaipur
  4. Surat
  5. Kochi
  6. Ahmedabad
  7. Jabalpur
  8. Vishakapatnam
  9. Sholapur
  10. Davangere
  11. Indore
  12. New Delhi (New Delhi municipal council area)
  13. Coimbatore
  14. Kakinada
  15. Belagavi
  16. Udaipur
  17. Guwahati
  18. Chennai
  19. Ludhiana
  20. Bhopal

In the near future, the government also plans to announce 40 cities to be developed as smart cities.



Leave Your Comment Here